Where is Santa Elena in the state of Yucatan?

Where is Santa Elena in the state of Yucatan?

20.350°N 89.767°W/20.350; -89.767°WSanta Elena Municipality is one of 106 municipalities in the Mexican state of Yucatan with a total land area of 694.90 km2 and is located around 95 kilometers south of the city of Merida. The ancient settlement in this area was known as Nohcacab, and it was inhabited throughout the Classic Maya period (600–1000 A.D.). It was later abandoned until 1698 when it was reoccupied by colonists from Spain.

Santa Elena means "Holy Mary" in Spanish. The town was founded in 1554 by Father Antonio de Mendoza who came to the region to convert the Maya people to Christianity. The church that he built still stands today and has become a landmark for tourists arriving in the town.

Today, Santa Elena is known for its annual flower festival that takes place during May and June. The town's main street becomes a colorful display of blooms from many different types of plants including roses, carnations, and gerbera daisies. There are also concerts, dancing, and other events held during the festivities.

Santa Elena is a small but busy town with plenty of services for travelers. There are several good-value hotels in the town center and they all offer free parking. Otherwise, you can find paid parking spots near the churches and public parks in the center of town.

The airport in Santa Elena serves as a connection point for flights to and from Merida.

Is the Santa Maria volcano in a populated area?

Santa Maria Volcano is a major active volcano in Guatemala's western highlands, near the city of Quetzaltenango in the Quetzaltenango Department. Santa Maria's (volcano)

Santa María, Santiaguito
Coordinates14°45′20″N 91°33′06″WCoordinates: 14°45′20″N 91°33′06″W
Santa María, Santiaguito Guatemala

Where are the largest Maya ruins in Yucatan?

Mayapan is one of the biggest Maya ruins in the Yucatan peninsula's northwestern region, around 38 kilometers (24 miles) southeast of Merida. It was also a major political center for the people who lived there.

The city was founded in approximately 730 AD by the chief of a small tribe called the Ka'an', who became very rich through trade with other countries. His name is not known because no remains of his have been found. He built his city on top of an older settlement that already existed when he arrived, so it can be assumed that it was not very big. But the Ka'an' tribe had many descendants who went on to build many more cities in the area!

Mayapan reached its peak between 870 and 925 AD, when it was probably the most important city in the Mayan world. At this time, it controlled parts of what are now six Mexican states: Yucatán, Campeche, Chiapas, Tabasco, Veracruz, and Hidalgo.

But soon after 925 AD, Mayapan started to decline. One reason may have been that some tribes began to move their settlements farther away from danger.

Where is Santa Maria, Bulacan, Philippines located?

2. The day on which the Dominicans took possession of the hacienda from the Crown of Spain. Santa Maria is a municipality (town) in the Philippine province of Bulacan. It lies 32 kilometers northeast of Manila and in the province's eastern region. As of 2010, it has an estimated population of 220,000 people.

3. The town was founded on March 31, 1581 by Don Diego de Herrera who named it after the Virgin Mary. It became a pueblo (city) in 1754 upon the arrival of Spanish colonial authorities. The city was burned down by American forces during the Philippine-American War but was rebuilt within a year. Today, Santa Maria is considered as one of the oldest towns in the Philippines.

4. The municipality is home to the University of the Assumption, one of the largest universities in the country. It also has several colleges including the College of Saint Rose of Lima, Immaculate Conception Academy, and Our Lady of Lourdes School. In addition, there are several schools under the jurisdiction of the municipal government including Santa Maria Central School, Bulakan Elementary School, and San Jose Elementary School.

5. Santa Maria has been declared as a "Living Heritage Town" by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts. This means that the town preserves many old buildings in its center that serve as museums today.

What town is Riviera Maya in?

The Riviera Maya (Spanish pronunciation: [ri'bjera'maja]) is a tourism and resort zone in Mexico, located south of Cancun. It crosses the coastal Federal Highway 307 along the Caribbean coastline of the state of Quintana Roo, which is located in the Yucatan Peninsula's easternmost region. The Riviera Maya has several small cities as well as some large resorts. There are also many unspoiled beaches in this area that are only accessible by boat or helicopter.

Riviera Maya was founded in 1971 when five small towns on the coast of Quintana Roo decided to join together to promote their culture and tourism. Today, it is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Mexico with more than six million visitors each year. The main cities in the Riviera Maya are Chetumal, Cozumel, Playa del Carmen and Tulum. They all have unique cultures and landscapes that draw tourists from around the world.

Chetumal is the capital of the state of Quintana Roo. It was first established as a Hacienda (large estate) called "El Pueblo de Los Angeles", then became a city in 1892. Today, it is known for its colorful festivals such as the Día de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) and Carnaval.

Where is the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta?

Colombia The Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta is located in Colombia's northernmost departments of Magdalena, La Guajira, and Cesar. The Teyuna Archaeological Park, commonly known as "Ciudad Perdida" (lost city), is located entirely in the Sierra Nevada and is the origin of the country's most significant Indian civilisation. It has been suggested that this enigmatic culture, which included a sophisticated society based on trade, agriculture, and mining, might have had contact with Europeans early in the 16th century but there is no evidence of this.

The Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta is part of the Andes mountain range and consists of three main peaks: Pico del Tuwo (2591 m), Pico Cristales (2479 m), and Pico Elias (2366 m). They are located near the border between Colombia and Venezuela. This range forms a natural barrier between the Caribbean and South American coasts and contains many beautiful lakes and rivers. It also contains the highest peak in Colombia (Peak Huallaga at 4397 m).

Santa Marta is the capital city of the Colombian department of Magdalena and is located on the Atlantic coast about 320 km from Bogotá. In addition to being one of Colombia's most important ports, it is also a popular tourist destination.

The Teyuna Archaeological Park is a large archaeological site that lies entirely within the borders of Colombia's Sierra Nevada National Park.

About Article Author

Gertrude Hoff

Gertrude Hoff is a teacher who loves to share her knowledge of the world with others. She has been teaching for over 15 years, and enjoys finding new ways to inspire her students to be their best selves. She is also a coach who helps people create their own paths of meaning in life by addressing their inner wisdom and cultivating their passions.

Related posts