Who was affected by the Indian Removal Act?

Who was affected by the Indian Removal Act?

They were either compelled to integrate and accept US law, or they were forced to flee their homelands. The Indian Nations were compelled to relocate and ended up in Oklahoma. The Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole were the five principal tribes involved. This is what caused the Trail of Tears.

In total, around 10,000 Indians died traveling west across Georgia, Alabama, and Florida toward the new territories.

The government's goal was to remove the tribes from their land and prevent them from going back. However, some Indians chose to stay and were given small parcels of land. These Indians were known as "transferred" Indians and they lived on these lands until they died. Their descendants now make up the modern-day Creek Nation.

In addition to the Cherokee, other tribes included in the act include the Choctaw, Chocktaw, Creek, Delaware, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mashantucket Pequot, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Ontario, Osage, Ottawa, Pamunkey, Penobscot, Picayune, Pima, Potawatomi, Quinault, Rappahannock, Seneca, Shawnee, Shoalwater Bay Indian Community, Southern Idaho Native Americans, and Upper Midwest Indians.

Which of these was not one of the five nations most affected by the Indian Removal Act?

Option D, Comanche, is the correct answer. More information The "Indian Removal Act," issued by Andrew Jackson in the early 1800s, ordered the tribes of the five Native American countries, including the Choctaw, Cherokee, Creek, Seminole, and Chickasaw, to leave their homes and migrate to a new site. The government-ordered removal was intended to make way for white settlers to expand into the lands.

The act was designed to facilitate the settlement of the west, but its effects were devastating for the indigenous people. It has been estimated that more than 100,000 Indians were removed from their homelands; the majority were forced to walk many miles away from their tribal lands toward what was then called the "Midwest." Many died along the way from disease or starvation. Others were captured by slave traders and sold into slavery.

In addition to removing the indigenous people, the act also abolished their governments and treated them as illegal immigrants. Because they weren't granted citizenship rights, they couldn't go to court to fight eviction orders. Instead, they were given two years to move off their land; if they didn't, the federal government claimed ownership of it.

After the removal order was passed, few Indians remained in the Southeast. By 1838, only about 7,000 Cherokees and 4,200 Creeks were left alive.

How did the Treaty of New Echota relate to the Indian Removal Act?

The treaty resulted in the forcible relocation of Cherokees from their southern homelands to Indian Territory west of the Mississippi River. In exchange for their 7 million acres of ancestral territory, the Cherokees received $5 million plus land in present-day Oklahoma in the Treaty of New Echota. The treaty was negotiated by John Ross, a prominent leader of the tribe who had opposed removal before it happened. He knew that if the Cherokee refused to go they would be destroyed, so he persuaded his people that moving was their only hope for survival.

Treaty of New Echota was one of several treaties that contributed to the Indian Removal Act of 1832. The act provided federal funds to support the resettlement of Native Americans within its borders. It also included provisions for military action if necessary to enforce compliance with its terms. In effect, the government was using money rather than guns to persuade the Indians to leave their homes.

The removal of Native Americans from their historic lands began in earnest after the passage of the Indian Removal Act. Over the next few years, hundreds of tribesmen were forced to move with the help of soldiers. They were given land in Oklahoma under conditions imposed by Congress and called them "wards" or "paupers." These terms were used because most of them had nothing to sell. They were expected to make a living off the land without aid from the government.

What was the policy of removal during the Jackson administration?

The Indians and Jackson During his presidency, the "removal" program (forcing Indians to relocate to territories west of the Mississippi River) became the official federal plan. The Cherokee, Choctaw, Creek, Chickasaw, and Seminole were the "Five Civilized Tribes" targeted for removal. In addition, several other tribes were forced to move by executive order. This policy had its origins in Thomas Jefferson's idea that tribal lands should be used by the settlers who occupied them. Removal was also seen as a way for Washington to make room for white settlers.

In 1803, Congress passed the Indian Removal Act, which authorized the president to negotiate treaties with Indian nations in order to secure their cessions of land. If these negotiations failed, then the federal government would use military force to bring about relocation. Over the next few years, various treaties were negotiated with various tribes, most notably with the Cherokee. These treaties provided for the cession of large tracts of land in return for small plots in what was called the "West."

When news of the removal treaty with the Cherokees reached Washington, D.C., it caused an uproar among politicians and citizens who believed that it was unfair to remove a tribe from its home without providing something in return. Congress immediately passed a law prohibiting the execution of any more treaties without approval from both houses. It wasn't long before another removal agreement was negotiated with another tribe.

About Article Author

Carrie Simon

Carrie Simon has been an educator for over 10 years. She loves helping people discover their passions and helping them take steps towards fulfilling those passions. Carrie also enjoys coaching sports with kids in her free time.

Related posts