Why is Toronto not the capital of Canada?

Why is Toronto not the capital of Canada?

The city of Toronto is the capital of Ontario, one of Canada's 10 provinces (plus three territories). However, unlike what you may have imagined, Toronto is NOT the national capital of Canada; that title belongs to the neighbouring city of Ottawa. In fact, there are several reasons why Toronto should be the national capital.

First of all, Canadians are a practical people and we like things that work. So it makes sense that our federal government would keep its headquarters in a city that is well equipped with services that we need as citizens. Also, since Parliament sits for nearly half the year, it makes sense that they should do so in a location where they can be easily reached by their constituents.

Finally, Ottawa is closer to Toronto than any other Canadian city. It's only an hour and fifteen minutes away by plane or two hours by car. This means that MPs are always within easy reach of their friends and supporters in the House of Commons, and that major government initiatives can be discussed at the drop of a hat between members of the cabinet.

In conclusion, Canada's parliament chooses Ottawa as its official residence because it is convenient for both politicians and their staff. The mayor of Toronto is also a member of the provincial legislature, which means that he or she has a hand in setting policy on a daily basis.

What is the Center City of Canada?

Toronto is the capital and largest city in the province of Ontario in southeastern Canada. It is Canada's most populated metropolis, a cosmopolitan city, and the country's financial and commercial hub. In 2016, its estimated population was 2,757,000 people with an annual growth rate of 1.4%.

The city is surrounded by the municipalities of Etobicoke, North York, and Scarborough in Toronto District Municipality, which has a total population of 1.5 million people. The municipal government is a "tri-level" system consisting of a city council, which is the policymaking body, a mayor who is the executive head, and a board of control. The board of control is made up of three members from each municipality represented by them. They can veto any item placed on the council's agenda by voting on it directly.

Canada's national anthem is "O Canada." It was written by Sir Edward Elgar in 1882. The music was composed by him as well. A bilingual version of the anthem is used in both English and French.

Canada became the first country to enter World War I on April 22, 1917. After losing many soldiers through death or injury, Canada withdrew from the war in November 1918. World War II followed, this time involving most of the countries of Europe and much of the world beyond.

What is the second capital of Canada?

Canada is divided into ten provinces and three territories. Toronto, the capital of Ontario, is also Canada's largest metropolis. Canada's capital cities are divided into provinces and territories.

Province/ TerritoryBritish Columbia
Capital CityVictoria
Largest City (if not the capital)Vancouver

About Article Author

Dennis Armstrong

Dennis Armstrong is a teacher who loves to read and write about science. He has published articles about the stars and the planets in our solar system, as well as the physics of locomotion on other planets.


BartlesVilleSchools.org is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts